Nottingham student runs half marathon months after emergency operation left her paralysed

Laura thumb finalA student from Nottingham Trent University has run a half marathon months after being paralysed due to a severe reaction to steroids.

Laura Clarke thought she might die after she had a rare and extreme reaction to steroids that she was prescribed after an operation.

She says: “Around the time of my operation, to remove an ulcer in my throat, I started to get Bambi-legs.”

“It kept getting worse and worse until eventually one morning I tried to get out of bed and I just fell to the floor.”

“My lungs were closing up and I seriously thought I was going to die,  I even said goodbye to my parents who tried their best to be strong.”

Doctors were at a loss as to what had caused the problem.

On her blog she said: “I have never been so scared in all my life.”

Eventually a doctor from Los Angeles diagnosed the condition as Acute Corti-costeroid Induced Myopathy, a rare condition suffered by less than five people in the UK.

It is caused by a severe reaction to steroids that causes muscle tissue to waste away.

They were  given  to her to help her recover from her operation but due to her condition they caused her to lose 85 per cent of her muscle tissue.

Doctors said it would take her a year to recover and that she would have to learn to walk again.

However, she managed to recover the use of her legs within 12 weeks and ran in the Birmingham half marathon on Sunday in the name of the Muscular Dystrophy charity.

She said, after finishing the event on Sunday in 2 hours 38 minutes, that: “I did something today that 7 months ago I thought I could never achieve.”

“Nothing will top that feeling I felt as I crossed that finish line.”

She ran with her friend Jess Austin and together the pair raised £900 for the charity.

Laura says: “It just goes to show that nothing is impossible.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.