Nottingham pole dancers set to perform on world stage

A Nottingham pole dancing trio are preparing to perform in the The World Pole Sport and Fitness Championships this weekend.

Three Nottingham pole dancers are set to perform on the world stage at an international competition this weekend.

Katherine Humphrey, Danielle Haynes and Tim McNulty will take part in a guest performance at the The World Pole Sport and Fitness Championships in Surrey on Saturday.

Miss Humphrey, a former psychology lecturer and PHD student at Nottingham Trent University, won the Entertainer of the Year and the People’s Choice Award at the UK Pole Championships last September.

The three pole dancers will perform an experimental dance and Miss Humphrey, 28, from West Bridgford, admits she is feeling a little apprehensive.

“As far as I know, this technique has never been used in pole dancing before so we are a little bit nervous,” she said.

“You never know, if it works it will be very unique.”

And the 28-year-old from West Bridgford, a freelance pole dancing instructor with her own company,  Pole Kat Fitness, said pole dancing was a great way to lose weight but also to gain confidence.

“Lots of people who come have very different backgrounds – maybe not such a great start in life and it’s brilliant way to gain in self-confidence.”

“We’re getting away from that negative stereotype of being part of the sex industry and only women dancing.”

Tim McNulty has lost five stones since starting pole fitness two-years-ago – proving that poll dancing is not just for women.

The 21-year-old from Colwick, said: “A friend of mine introduced it to me and as soon as I gave it a go, I was hooked. It has completely changed my life.

“When I first started, I weighed 18 stone and since then I have lost five stone, which is the best thing I have ever done.

“It has also given me more confidence and massively improved my fitness.

“I would like to see more men take part and I think that might happen if it gets more mainstream coverage.”

Mother-of-two Danielle Haynes will also be performing at the event in Crawley, in front of more than 400 people.

The 29-year-old, of Clifton, said: “I am really looking forward to performing but I have never done it in front of so many people before.

“Because we are doing it in shadow, that has taken some of the nerves away.

“Pole dancing has given me so much confidence and it is great to know you can actually do something well.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.